The newly elected members of the IFJ Executive Committee #IFJCongress2022

The 31st World Congress of the International Federation of Journalists was took place from May 31 until June 3 in Muscat, Oman. Over 250 participants representing journalists’ unions and associations from 92 countries will attend the Congress, with key themes including the surveillance of journalists and action to end impunity for crimes against media workers.
IFJ General Secretary, Anthony Bellanger, said: “The IFJ has a strong history of international journalist federations across the world. The Asia Pacific region was the missing piece. We hope the Federation of Asia Pacific Journalists (FAPaJ) will be a strong platform for journalists and media workers in this diverse and important region.”
The IFJ represents more than 600,000 journalists in 140 countries
Twitter: @ifjasiapacific, on Facebook: IFJAsiaPacific and Instagram

President Dominique Pradalié

SNJ – France



Senior Vice President



Zuliana Lainez Otero

ANP – Peru


Vice-President s



Nasser Abu Baker / Sabina Inderjit              

PJS – Palestine/ Indian Journalists Union






Jim Boumelha

National Union of Journalists (NUJ)

Advisers Mohamed Al Araimi

OJA – Oman


Dhairan Almutairi

KJA – Kuwait


Maria José Braga

FENAJ – Brazil



Larry Goldbetter



Adriana Hurtado

FECOLPER – Colombia


Mohamed Yassine Jelassi

SNJT – Tunisia


Joachim Kreibich

dju in verdi – Germany




Raffaele Lorusso

FNSI – Italy


Filemón Medina

Sindicato de Periodistas de Panama


Marion Medjo Obam

SNJC – Cameroon


Luis Menendez

FAPE – Spain


Jennifer Moreau

UNIFOR – Canada


Omar Faruk Osman

NUSOJ – Somalia


Adam Portelli

MEAA – Australia


Maria Luisa Rogério

SJA – Angola


Ali Youssef

ORLB – Lebanon

Reserve Advisers





Eduardo Constantino

SNJ – Mozambique


Stephen Ouma Bwire

UJU – Uganda




Rashid Al Hamer

BJA – Bahrain

Mohammed Al Hammadi






Serhiy Shturkhetskyy

IMTUU – Ukraine


Latin America



Jose Altagracia Guzman Beato

SNTP – Dominican Republic


Domingo Vargas






Karen Percy

MEAA – Australia


Leigh Tonkin

MEAA – Australia

General Reserve Advisers



Indira Priyadarshini Nawagamuwa

FMETU – Sri Lanka


Wanchi You

ATJ – Taiwan



The 31st IFJ World Congress Muscat -Oman

FAPAJ Members

The 31st IFJ World Congress was held at the Convention hall of the Muscat Oman from 31st May 2022 to 03rd June,2022.

The 31st May 2022 was a very significant day for Asia Pacific Region. After years of struggle it was able to establish a Federation for Asia Pacific Region called FAPaJ.
The FAPaJ becomes the fourth IFJ regional group after the European Federation of Journalists (EFJ), the Federation of African Journalists (FAJ) and the Federación de Periodistas de América Latina y el Caribe (FEPALC) and comprises representatives from the Pacific, Western Asia, Eastern Asia, Southern Asia and Central Asia.
Federation of Asia Pacific Journalists Chaired by Ms. Sabina Indrajith and the rest of the executive will be as Follows:
Chairman : Ms. Sabina Inderjit, General-Secretary of the India Journalists Union (IJU) and IFJ Vice President, was elected as the first FAPaJ president.
Vice Chairman : Mr. Salem Al Jahwari was elected as FAPaJ Vice President .
Mr. Mousa Abdul Nour, Ali Yousef, Mohammad Alhammadi, Leigh Tonkin, Jonathan De Santos and Badri Sigdel elected as members of the Executive Committee.

Do you have questions? Call or visit us.

+(94) 773 641 111

#30, Amarasekara Mawatha, Colombo 5, Sri Lanka.


Get latest news & update

© 2021 – FMETU. All rights reserved.

Carefully crafted by Ceyber Ceylon